mushroom & brown rice bowl. www.cocobean.me

Simple Mushroom & Brown Rice Bowl

This brown rice and mushroom bowl is absolutely delicious as a side dish, sometimes I even eat a whole bowl of it for dinner and feel completely satisfied afterwards! The mushrooms add the most delicious hearty flavour to this dish, giving the (sometimes bland and boring) brown rice such depth and taste. It really is one of the simplest dishes to make, yet it tastes so good! I was contemplating whether I should even post this recipe on the blog as it is so easy and fuss free, but I had to share it with you as it is a delicious side dish and lasts well in the fridge, so you can keep a bowl of it for a few days and just add it to your meals. My favourite thing to do, as many of you know, is to add it to a beautiful rainbow bowl of goodness.

mushroom & brown rice bowl. www.cocobean.me

Now that I am pregnant, I am even more aware of what I am putting into my body and try to really make the best and most nutritious choices for my own body strength and also more importantly for my growing baby. Mushrooms have always been a favourite of mine, not only for their flavour and texture, but also for their amazing health benefits:

  •  Did you know that mushrooms are the only vegetable (or fruit) that provides us with vitamin D! Therefore it helps your body to absorb calcium, develops strong bones, helps with neuromuscular function, helps your immune system to function optimally and also prevents inflammation.
  • Mushrooms are high in antioxidants which protect our bodies from cell damage.
  • Mushrooms and brown rice are both high in selenium which increases your thyroid function and is good for your bladder.
  • The potassium in the mushrooms gives you a healthy heart, helps your blood pressure and also prevents muscle cramps.

mushroom & brown rice bowl. www.cocobean.me

Brown rice is a good staple to have in your cupboard or to keep a bowl of cooked rice in your fridge to add to meals. It is so much better than white rice! I actually can’t remember the last time I ate white rice, I just don’t really see the point in eating white rice as there is hardly any nutrition or flavour.

  • Brown rice will give you a good dose of fibre for a healthy digestive system and also keeps your blood sugar levels stable.
  • It is high in manganese and magnesium for healthy bones, synthesizes cholesterol, a good metabolic function and a healthy immune system.

These are just a few key health benefits in this dish, so you can eat up and enjoy the deliciousness and health boosting properties too.

mushroom & brown rice bowl. www.cocobean.me

It goes exceptionally well with slow roasted rosa tomatoes! All I do is place the tomatoes in a frying pan with a dash of balsamic vinegar, some honey and salt and pepper. Fry until soft, caramelized and delicious!

Mushroom & Brown Rice Bowl

serves 2

1 cup uncooked brown rice

2 Tbsp olive oil

250g mushrooms, sliced

1 large clove garlic

fresh thyme

1 Tbsp butter

salt and pepper to taste

Start by cooking the brown rice according to the packet instructions. I just boil mine in about 3 cups water and a pinch of salt.

While the rice is cooking, slice your mushrooms and chop the garlic clove very finely.

Fry the mushrooms, garlic and thyme leaves in the olive oil. Add the butter when it starts to smell amazing and add salt and pepper to taste. Fry until the mushrooms are golden brown.

Stir the mushrooms into the cooked brown rice.

mushroom & brown rice bowl. www.cocobean.me

  • also delicious sprinkled with grated parmesan cheese
  • sprinkle some extra fresh thyme leaves over and drizzle with olive oil before serving

I hope you enjoy this recipe! xx

2 thoughts on “Simple Mushroom & Brown Rice Bowl

Leave a Reply

